Reflexology Certification

Reflexology School Accreditation Levels

Students aspiring to become reflexologists should consider their anticipated scope of practice, licensing and accreditation requirements of a school before zeroing on a reflexology school or college.

Reflexologists can also pursue a voluntary certification offered by the American Reflexology Certification Board (ARCB), in both hand and foot reflexology. In order to qualify or get enrolled in this course, a student must have completed a minimum of 30 hours on hand reflexology training or 110 hours of foot reflexology training.

Certification for Reflexology in America

Reflexology Certification Board

The RCB was established in 2005 and offers reflexologists certification at three different levels based on their education and experience in the field.

The three levels are:

RP – Reflexology Practitioner
CR – Certified Reflexologist
MR – Master Reflexologist

Certification shows that the reflexologist has completed a course of education and promotes both credibility as well as professionalism.

The American Reflexology Certification Board

Set up in 1991, The American Reflexology Certification Board (ARCB) is a non-profit, independent testing agency. It does not recommend or endorse any Reflexology school, curriculum, and instructor. Its chief aim is to certify the proficiency of professional Reflexologists who wish to be recognized and meet higher standards on a national level. ARCB is not a membership organization and is not affiliated with any training school, association, or instructor. ARCB certification is a significant step offering enhanced credibility to professional reflexologists. Some of the ARCB approved CEU providers are:

Academy of Ancient Reflexology
Karen Ball
4811 Serena Circle
St. Augustine, FL 32084

Associated Reflexologists of Colorado (ARC)
P.O. Box 697
Englewod, CO 80151

American Academy of Reflexology
725 East Santa Anita Ave #B
Burbank CA 91501

ACARET Accreditation Credentialing

ACARET Accreditation Credentialing indicates that a person has achieved a competency level that is at par with the highest set standards for instructors of the reflexology profession.

Being an ACARET Reflexology Educator (AAEd), you will achieve:

  • Recognition in industry
  • Greater professional visibility
  • Opportunity to exhibit your dedication to excellence
  • Accountability and professional growth
  • Continue teaching and practice in the field of reflexology

The AAEd credentialing symbolizes the highest recognition standard currently established by ACARET for professional instructors in the reflexology field. Some states require that professional reflexologists be licensed or certified. For most states, licensing requires at least 500 study hours, written exam passage and certification of the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork.

Certification for Reflexology in the United Kingdom

The British Reflexology Association

There are four categories of BRA Membership :

  • Fellow membership – An FBRA Registered Reflexologist membership is offered to persons elected directly by the Board who have shown distinction in the profession of Reflexology. It is also presented to those fellows who have rendered any noticeable service to the Association.
  • Ordinary membership – An MBRA Registered Reflexologist is one who has passed a BRA certification exam to obtain a Diploma/Certificate from the official instructing body
  • Associate membership – It is given to those individuals who have passed a certification exam to obtain a Diploma/Certificate from the BRA official body but are not practicing reflexology as a full-time profession.
  • Student membership – It is offered to persons studying a course of training with a BRA official teaching body.

The Bayly School of Refelxology is the official schooling body of The British Reflexology Association and currently only those can join BRA who has undergone a Bayly School course.

Certification for Reflexology in Canada

The Reflexology Association of Canada

RAC is a non-profit, federally chartered association created in 1976 with a mission to take the profession of reflexology to the highest possible level of excellence and unity through education, research, communication, and innovation.

RAC membership is open to organizations and individuals which further the core objectives of the association. According to the by-laws approved in Annual General Meeting (2004), there are now six membership categories:

  • Professional Members
    For Professional Reflexologists.
  • Corporate Members
    Organizations which have a keen interest in Reflexology such as groups, firms, corporations, schools and other associations.
  • Associate Members
    Reflexologists who are professionals but do not practice Reflexology.
  • Affiliate Members
    Individuals with a keen interest in Reflexology.
  • Student Members
    Individuals studying Reflexology.
  • Honorary Members
    Individuals recognized for their significant contribution to the RAC.

The RAC Professional Reflexologists are called ‘RCRT’( Registered Canadian Reflexology Therapist).